:drink:

 

There is usually one customer or drink when you start working at Starbucks that scares the crap out of you. Either they are just a crabby customer or an ultra complicated drink or even worse…both. Well since I have been back there have been a few here and there that I have had to master…people and drinks. There was always this one drink though of this guy that just scared the crap out of me. Don’t even know why because on the complication level it wasn’t that big of a deal and he is generally a nice guy but I always deferred to someone else to make the drink. Well this morning I had enough of that and decided to tackle it on my own. So there I went making the masterpiece and when he approached the bar to get it I told him to go easy on me since it was my first time making it. He just smiled and walked away….a couple of minutes later I looked up and he was giving me a thumbs up! It felt great and I will never forget how to make his drink now and I have gotten over that fear.
It makes me think even more of things that I may be scared of or “putting off” and how if I just muster a little bravery (word of the year!) and admit that the first time might be a little rocky that I will get past it. There’s a few things in my life right now that I think I have these feelings about and it made me really think today about those. How I just need to stop deferring to other people or excuses and make that drink! I also need to remember that there is always going to be another challenge that comes a long….someone else will come up with that complicated drink and be very particular about it. At work, I have to finally make that drink so why in life do we put things off so much? Dreams even that we have been holding deep down for years. Fear….fear of the complicated….the dirty…the messy….the confrontation….pick your excuse,it is there. I know it is for me almost all of the above.
I guess what this taught me today is that I need to treat some of these things like work…that I just need to DO them. No excuses. The customer on the other end needs their drink….and you know who that customer is in this case? ME!

 

Leave a Reply

