:beautiful things:

we all have those days where we look in the mirror and just really loathe the reflection we see….and sometimes it is the physical attributes we might see or maybe we see deeper to the other stuff too….the inside garbage we deal with. You know what I’m talking about…a bad choice you made, something you shouldn’t have said, whatever it may be we see it in that reflection. Lately, I see a lot of bad hair days!! Seriously though I have those mornings of seeing something “ugly” about myself. I have to try to remember to that each new day is a new start and we need to release those old uglies.
My bestie is starting out on a new eating plan…to lose weight and get healthy and I am very proud of her!! While talking about it she revealed that her biggest fear is failing…and oh boy did I know what she was talking about. As someone who has tried again and again at this healthier eating stuff, I knew exactly how she felt! With any new plan though, whether it be eating, exercise, spiritual, etc. you have to remember to give yourself some grace that each day is a new day. Some days are going to be hard and you may not do as well, as humans we fail all the time. If you are a believer you know that God forgives those failures…every time!! So why don’t we forgive ourselves? Why are we so hard on ourselves? I think it is because in our world that we are in there is so much hatred and unforgiveness…. things that go back hundreds of years even. So I feel like we see this and think to ourselves “why should I forgive myself?”
here is what I know…when you release yourself from those chains, those “uglies” you emotionally weigh less and this allows you to focus on what you want to achieve. I will be the first to admit….this is hard for me. I have those tapes in my head that seem to be on repeat but I have to work on recording over them and starting new each day.
We are starting a new series at church called “repurposed”. It’s sounds like it is going to be a great series talking about those things that we as humans struggle with and need to repurpose and changed up. Fits in perfectly with my choice word for 2013! One of my favorite songs was done as a part of worship this weekend and it reminds us that God makes beautiful things from anything. So the next time you look into the mirror and see anything but beautiful…remember that someone else thinks differently!

All this pain
I wonder if I’ll ever find my way
I wonder if my life could really change at all
All this earth
Could all that is lost ever be found
Could a garden come up from this ground at all
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us
All around
Hope is springing up from this old ground
Out of chaos life is being found in You
Have a listen here:

Leave a Reply

