:safety girl:

 

I remember when I was about 10 years old my Mom had been working a factory job in Geneva. She had been there a long time and liked what she did but was a single mom and sometimes had to work some crazy shifts. I remember one day she came home and said that she was thinking about taking a new job and it was in sales…selling safety equipment. Being the age I was, I really didn’t have any idea what that all meant but she did mention that there was potential for more money…which hey for me meant more toys right? In those first few years of that job, it was a struggle. She was learning the business and my Mom is the hardest worker I know so she put in a lot of hours. I think it was when I was in high school she was tired of traveling and being on the road and there was an opening inside for an operations spot.
When I was in high school and college I would sometimes go and help file or do some special projects. No big deal, just whatever they needed my help with. In my sophomore year of college I was only going to community college and really didn’t know what I wanted to do. I had been helping them out a little more and started to really become part of the office. I made a decision to drop out of school and join them full-time in customer service. As they say…the rest is history ๐Ÿ™‚
So yes…since 1998 with the exception of the few years I was in Arizona, I have worked with my Mom. Along the way I have had many ask me “how do you do that?” Well, first I can say that my Mom & I have a very strong relationship and we believe in communication. If we didn’t have that we wouldn’t have been able to do this. Also, for the most part we keep business and personal as separate as we can.
Through the years, I have learned many facets of the business from her. We haven’t always agreed and we are ok with that. We have been a team, we have trained others, dealt with drama, and celebrated successes. For 25 years my Mom has worked for SSI and on December 14th she will retire. She deserves it. She has worked so hard and now will have time to play.
I am so excited for this next chapter for her….but I am sad for the chapter that is ending for her and I. The safety girls team ๐Ÿ™‚ It will be weird not to have her at the office everyday on those days when I do need a Mom hug or need to vent about something that only she would understand. It will take some time and I will probably expect her to walk through the door one day…but it is time.

I love you Mom….can’t wait to hear of all the new adventures you have!

 

Leave a Reply

