:messy:

I have a secret….lean closer to the screen so I can whisper it….I am a Christian and I swear (gasp!) To some of you that isn’t much of a secret to others you may have left the page already. That’s ok…one thing about my blog is that I am honest and transparent. I don’t know why I have been thinking about this a lot lately. Maybe it’s because I have been working on getting into God’s word and doing some daily devotional work. Or it could be because I have been exploring more and more blogs of other Christians and seeing that I am not alone with some of these thoughts.
Here’s the thing…don’t let any other person tell you that they are the perfect Christian. In fact, I challenge you to even find one who is. You know why? We aren’t!! There was only one perfect person and He loves us no matter what!  Despite everything…despite an occasional swear word, a nasty smoking habit or crappy things in our past. He knows who we are, knows that for most of us those things don’t define us. Last weekend we had a speaker at church who said it perfectly “we are broken, but beautiful
See what seems to happen with people and faith is that they feel because they have some “messy” stuff in their lives they aren’t loved by God. It saddens me to think that people go for years not going to church or even just talking to God because they don’t think they are worthy. A lot of it has to do with the actual “church”, there are some out there that turn people away because of their flaws. They don’t want to have to “deal” with someone tarnishing their “perfect” little community…know what I have to say to that? That “community” is a sham….it’s not real…it does not exist.
The last few weeks I have been doing a lot of reading and exploring on this topic….how God loves us unconditionally…no questions asked…with all our faults. In fact…dare I say that He actually likes to deal with us “messy” ones a bit more? Look at the Bible and see who he hung out with; lepers, liars, adulterers…the list goes on. He wants to show us that His love is always there…this can be hard for those that do have those things going on in their lives. I can attest….does God love me even though I swear? Even though I have been divorced? Even though I struggle with occasional impure thoughts? Of course he does….but it is hard to accept it sometimes. Something else that our speaker said last weekend; “We Have Been Used, But We Can Be Made New” Everyday we have a new opportunity to start fresh with that same love. Now does this mean go out and do the same bad thing everyday because you have a new start…..not at all. You know what else we need to do….stop listening to the tapes in our heads telling us we aren’t worthy of this love. That despite our messiness it is always there. Erase those tapes and replace it with God’s words……

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.
    Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you.
    I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.

Isaiah 41:10

2 thoughts on “:messy:

Leave a Reply

