:inner peace:

so today hasn’t been a great day for me. Woke up with a killer headache…and while grateful that I didn’t have anything planned today, this was not how I wanted to spend my Sunday. Oh well…I am starting to feel a bit more human tonight and of course I probably won’t be able to sleep since I slept so much throughout the day….more time for writing I guess!!

My best friend sent me a funny email this morning that had been forwarded on to her. And while I did laugh at first, it got me thinking. First of all here is the email so you can all laugh as well!

I am passing this on to you because it definitely works, and we could all use a little more calmness in our lives. By following simple advice heard on the Dr. Phil show, you too can find inner peace. Dr Phil proclaimed, “The way to achieve inner peace is to finish all the things you have started and have never finished.” So, I looked around my house to see all the things I started and hadn’t finished, and before leaving the house this morning, I finished off a bottle of Merlot, a bottle of Bailey’s Irish Cream, a package of Oreos, the remainder of my old Prozac prescription, the rest of the cheesecake, some Doritos, a box of chocolates, and the last bit of the tequila.
You have no idea how freaking good I feel right now.

Pass this on to those whom you think might be in need of inner peace.

Of course a funny little story…although I am pretty sure the Dr. Phil quote is probably valid. Leave it to my mind though to take it a step further and think about the “unfinished” things in my house. It’s easy enough to look around and see the pile of books I have yet to read (some even started), the craft projects that are in my closet or the decorating that isn’t done yet. And how about the things that can’t be seen….the conversation that needs to be had, the closure to things from the past or even the unfinished business of my health. I will be the first to admit…I am the master of starting things and not finishing. What I have realized lately and working on is that the ones that are harder to accomplish, the ones not really “seen” are the ones that scare or challenge me the most. You know the feeling…putting off a conversation because of the confrontation, going to the doctor being afraid of a diagnosis. The Dr. Phil quote is right though…if you have these things unfinished in your heart and mind…there will be no inner peace. You will constantly be in turmoil. So instead of reading this quote in a funny way….read it and take it in. Make a note of those things that have you in turmoil…and make a plan to achieve them. Get on the road to inner peace….I know that’s what I’m trying to do.

“The way to achieve inner peace is to finish all the things you have started and have never finished.”

One thought on “:inner peace:

Leave a Reply

