:inward journey:

 

just another quickie….read a quote last night that someone posted on Facebook and it has really stuck with me. Pastor Scott actually quotes this person, Brennan Manning A LOT and I have a couple of his books to read…but check this out…

Whatever our addiction – be it a smothering relationship, a dysfunctional dependence, or mere laziness-our capacity to be affected by Christ is numbed. Sloth is our refusal to go on the inward journey, a paralysis that results from choosing to protect ourselves from passion.  – B. Manning

oh peeps….”our refusal to go on the inward journey”….that one hit me like a ton of bricks. What I have been doing for the past 4 weeks is really the opposite. I have really really gone deep into some things that I have ignored for a while. I was refusing to go on that journey…because you know what the journey is hard!!! It sucks…it takes work…it teaches you things you may not really like about yourself…it makes you cry…or yell….

think about that….think about something that is paralyzing you. God doesn’t want that….he wants you to take that journey even though it is going to be tough. Best part about that though….He has you covered….he will be there to soften the blow.

when I went to figure out where this quote was from I was surprised….it from Brennan’s book called Abba’s Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging. Coincidence for me? I don’t think so….

 

 

Leave a Reply

