:state of the health address-part 1:

 

and by this I mean my health….

Why is it that we have come to a place on our society where we accept being sick all the time? We accept waking up tired, constant headaches, stomach upset, whatever the malady might be. It has almost become “normal” for us to live this way, to be medicating, visiting the doctor often, etc. You can put me right in this category because I don’t know that a day goes by where I feel 100%…isn’t that sad for someone who is only 32?

so why is it that I and everyone else continue this cycle? I feel like I have literally been on a roller coaster of health since I can remember. I have always been overweight, headaches, severe colds in the winter and more. Since that time I have also gone in cycles of healthy eating, cleanses, exercise, etc. For awhile I will actually FEEL better; more energy, less headaches, etc. So why then do I so easily get off track? Revert back to the old ways and thus feeling like crap? Why can’t I think about the fact that yes I do have to give certain things up but yet I gain so much in return.

I have thought A LOT about this in the past month or so….obviously it being the new year everyone is in the healthy state of mind and I am no different. Once again I was on a pretty good run of exercising and eating better and again fell off the wagon. A few months ago I visited a metabolic doctor who ran a full panel of tests and then really explained what the results meant. While I didn’t continue on their plan (lots of money not covered by insurance) I learned a lot some of my symptoms and what I should be doing to help them. I’m going to talk more about those actual things in another post but the bottom line is that I have health issues that need to be addressed. So why can’t I get my mind and heart together on that?

In doing some reading and praying and thinking about this topic…I came to an “a-ha” moment. Do I feel I’m worth it? I know this sounds strange but just roll with me for a minute. All of us struggle with self-esteem issues and feelings of not being “good-enough” We compare ourselves to others and wonder why we can’t be like them. This is no different in this area and even might be more prevalent in your life than you think. So do I think I am worth being healthy?….being the best person I can be? The answer should be yes, but for people (me) who struggle with this issue, it doesn’t always come that easy. For someone who has dealt with this their entire life it is hard to grasp that yes they can be healthier. It takes work, time, commitment…but it CAN happen and YES we are worth it! Not only should we do this for ourselves but to honor God.

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.
1 Corinthians 6: 19-20

 

Leave a Reply

